Introducing Georgios: Administrator

A person standing in the shallow ocean, wearinga pink shirt and grey shorts, smiling into the camera

When did you start working at MindOut?

A little over two years ago.

 

What pronouns do you use?

Them/they

 

Explain your job in 10 words?

Behind the scenes support and first contact for client enquiries.

 

What do you love about your role?

I enjoy that admin is often the go-to for troubleshooting and queries, particularly when I am able to answer and help. I also deliver training and am currently doing some advocacy work short-term. I value the interactions I am able to have within these roles as well.

 

Most recent training you’ve delivered?

The most recent training I delivered was a short introduction to gender, focusing on trans and non-binary awareness. It was a 45 minute session, so it was very brief, but the delegates were lovely and engaged, and asked thoughtful and respectful questions.

 

What’s your top mental health tip?

Limiting and being mindful about social media and news consumption. Also, just in general – Disco.

 

Something positive about lockdown?

Being forced to slow down a bit and having time to read. I moved into a new flat a couple of days before the first lockdown and was alone for a long time. It was surreal moving into a new space and not leaving it for weeks but it meant that it became a real place of safety. I found comfort in my solitude.

 

Most upbeat song on your playlist? 

I’m currently alternating between Little Mix, Rina Sawayama, and SOPHIE.

 

Current LGBTQ icon?

My housemate. They are iconic because they are kind and they have patience living with me. Also, the entire cast of Pose: Mj Rodriguez, Indya Moore, Billy Porter et al. Pose has been such solace throughout lockdown. Also Lama Rod Owens because I am currently reading and loving ‘Love and Rage’. I will also always have an affinity with George Michael because that’s what people would call me when I was growing up. Because of the similarity of our names and because I was always singing. Sorry, I couldn’t pick just one!

 

The best thing about living in Brighton?

The sea and the LGBTQ community. I love being by the water. I feel so fortunate that I was able to move here in the first place. I can’t think of anywhere else I would like to be throughout a pandemic (except maybe New Zealand).

 

What would be your dream holiday destination?

New Zealand! And I’d love to go to Iceland one day.

 

What animal would you be and why? 

I’d be a cat because they have boundaries and I respect that. I’m actually rather allergic though but maybe I wouldn’t be if I was one.